A day at the dealership

I spent the majority of my day sitting in a car dealership in Tennessee. Odd, I know. When we bought our VW last year, it was from a dealership that has since closed. However, because it was a certified pre-owned vehicle, we need to return to a dealership for the major servicings. The closest one is about an hour and a half away, in Tennessee. So, at 8:30 this morning I packed up Lya and we headed over the mountain.

I was thrilled when she fell asleep at 8:50 for her first nap. She awoke right as we got to the dealership and was in a great mood. We were told it would take a couple of hours….which I suspected meant we’d be outta there by noon. Just before noon, the service guy came and told me that they were waiting on a part (spark plug) that wouldn’t arrive until 2pm. Did I want to go to the mall? No, thanks. Lya was doing great and so I decided we’d just sit tight. We ate our packed lunch, played some more, took a short walk, Lya napped in the ergo and we waiting some more. Finally around 3pm the car was ready.

Throughout the day, the service guy would come check on us, talk for a while, comment on Lya, etc. Towards the end of our wait he finally said, “Is she a Daddy’s girl?” I said, “Oh yea, she lights up and squeals with delight when he comes home. ” He continued, “She must look like her daddy.” (Okay, this is the SECOND time a man has said this to me.) “Um, no, she doesn’t. She’s adopted.” “Really?” (Both have acted completely surprised.) “Well, I guess oversees adoption is better because with adoptions here I guess they can just come and take them anytime.” “No, they can’t. Each state has a time period in which a birth family can change their minds, but after that, it is final. Each state is different, so I think that a lot of people are mistaken in thinking that it is just arbitrary.” Okay, this is a good time to say that my own knowledge on domestic adoptions is pretty shallow, so please correct me if I am wrong–however, I do play to learn more. But, seriously, I wish people understood adoption–both domestic and international–better than they do. He was a nice guy and I was trying to be kind, but direct. I didn’t seem to insult him as much as the last person I corrected who had a lot of blanket statements about adoption. So, do other people ever get that question (or does your partner) when out with your baby alone?

So, once we were all finished and went out to the car, another service guy was waiting at the car. I had talked with him earlier and he again apologized for our ridiculous wait (which by the way, we were discounted for!). And then he ever-so-hesitantly said, “I think you have your car seat in the wrong way.” He was seriously concerned and wanted to bring it to my attention. Now, granted, when whoever it was moved my car, they also pushed back the seat and it sort of moved the car seat around some and it looked like it wasn’t installed correctly at all. However, if I was going to unknowingly put my carseat in facing the wrong direction, don’t you think it would be facing forward? Well, Lya does not weigh 20 lbs yet so it was facing backwards and I thanked him for letting me know he was concerned and assured him that it was to face backwards until she was 20 lbs and that it had an infant attachment just for that reason. He was satisfied with my answer, thankfully. Then he went on about how he had watched me with her all day and was so impressed with my parenting. He said so many people tell their babies to hush and push them to the side (I think he meant ignore). And that it was so refreshing to watch me with her and he thinks she’ll be smarter for it. đŸ™‚ I said, “Well, thank you. We know how lucky we are.”  I then readjusted all of the seats in the car and was on my way.

They were honestly all so nice…but what an odd day. Lya was awesome. She was competely predictable in schedule, she was fun and giggly the whole time and super patient with the wait. She did say “bye. bye. bye.” multiple times throughout the day. I wasn’t sure if she was hinting that she was ready to leave or if she heard someone in an office somewhere say “bye” on the phone. But, come 3pm we were both thrilled to be on our way home. She pulled off her sock and shoe, managed to lounge in her seat and babbled with a smile most of the way home.

5 thoughts on “A day at the dealership

  1. I can say I have only had a few comments & they have been fine. A lady asked me “where Quinn was originally from” and another lady asked me “where did he get all that black hair from”. So, not bad. A lady at my grandparents church did ask my grandma (shortly after we returned home) “what language he spoke”….ok, that’s a really dumb question! He’s a baby, he speaks mama, dada, babble babble. Hope you all are doing good!

  2. It sounds like Lya was quite a trooper through that terrible wait!

    We do get a lot of attention when we are out in public, but so far it has all been very positive. I think it helps that we are in a smaller town, and many people either know us or know of us, so we’re not as likely to get the “does she look like her father” type questions.

  3. I’ve been asked a few odd questions, usually people trying to find out if Mickey is adopted but unsure how to ask. None have said anything terrible, and the most awkward questions have been (it turns out) from people toying with the idea of adopting themselves. Usually I just grin and gush about my boy, and let people ask follow-up questions if they want to.

  4. Since I live in a country where adoption is not that common, we get all kinds of weird and inappropriate. But even here (and in the states) when well meaning people make comments like what you experienced, I am more annoyed that many say what they do as ‘fact’. I would far prefer to be ‘asked’ and given the opportunity to either say it’s private or give the right info.

  5. Ha, one time When an obviously nosy lady asked me if Lion-boy’s father was Asian, I said YES!
    She was even more confused b/c I was with my other two(bio kids) and she then went on to mention that they must have different fathers!
    AKKKK!

Leave a Reply

