Catching up

I’ve been trying (unsuccessfully) to get this post up for days. The longer it goes, the more pictures there are. The last few weeks have been hard. I’ve been very up and down and incredibly short-fused it seems. Last night it finally occurred to me…it is APRIL. April as in the month we had our second-opinion testing that confirmed that I was going to have a hysterectomy. April the month my physical grief set in. April the month Nick had his car accident (two years ago today). April the month we started our adoption process (April 4, 2007). April the month we were married (6 years ago this past Sunday). Some good. Some bad. But none of it is little. And I am convinced that my body remembers. And regardless of how mundane life is right now, I seem to be riding the emotional rollercoaster of it all anyway. It is exhausting. I want it to stop. I’ve convinced myself if it would stop raining and warm up for more than two days at a time, my body would relax and I’d find some even ground. Anyway, its been a long two weeks. To top it off Lya’s 1yr molars are moving on in…painfully. Its hard to have a clingy, whiny child when you’re dealing with your own overwhelming ghosts.

So…all that said. Here are some pictures from the last week:

easter09

Easter morning was a hit. It was the first time Lya really reacted to a surprise and she was thrilled. She loved shaking the eggs (which only contained smaller eggs) and of course she mostly enjoyed the grass….which proceeded to find its way throughout the house. (Also, note the huge molar that has made a home in her mouth. It throws me every time I see it.)

mytwoloves1

mytwoloves2

Love these two to pieces.

anniversary6

Sunday was also our 6th wedding annivesary. We didn’t really celebrate between it being Easter, having Lya, etc. BUT, I will say that Nick did an excellent job this weekend putting up with me and reminding me of the wonderful man I’ve married. (We hope to celebrate with a night out ALONE soon.)

countrygirl1

froggy

runnin

On Tuesday Lya turned 14 months. This picture (even though crappy quality) depicts the energy around here most of the time. She’s usually running from room to room and often eating or asking to eat–although not always at the same time. I just love the look on her face. Such a silly girl.

kissesforme

It’s so important to love yourself. 🙂

We’re looking forward to a wondeful weekend with some close friends who come tomorrow! We cannot wait and hopefully the weather will stay beautiful and we’ll be able to enjoy being outside a lot of the time. Have a great weekend everyone!

5 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. I agree – the body remembers it’s traumas. I hope you find your way to the end of April as painlessly and peacefully as you can.

    As always, fabulous photos! The family portrait – beautiful!!!

  2. Hang in there, Becky–April is half way over!! Hope some sunshine comes your way soon. Enjoy the weekend with friends! Btw, I love the pic of Lya shaking the egg!

  3. Good Lord woman- of course april is tough for you!!!!!! It’s almost over but until it is, take it easy on yourself.

    (((((((((((((HUGS)))))))))))))))))

Leave a Reply

