Procrastinating…

quilt1I admittedly do not enjoy packing. So packing for a multiple week trip calls for multiple days of procrastination. Three days ago I started a new quilt. I decided we would need a Summer Quilt 2009 to accompany us on this trip and desperately needed to just do something for myself. I finished it up tonight and it is now in the washing machine. I had so many issues though which led to some very “organic” stitching. For some reason my foot control started acting up and yesterday it started going on auto-pilot. The only way to get the stitching to stop was to turn it off. So that was what I did on and off all day. And while on auto-pilot I couldn’t control the speed. So there are many not-quite-straight stitches that I’m trying my best to love. However, from today’s perspective I’ll say that auto-pilot is awesome. At least when you compare it to NO foot-control….or rather NO automatic stitching. I literally finished up my final (several hundred to be sure…really) quilting stitches by turning the machine knob. When it came time to do the binding I decided to set the new fancy machine aside and bring out the old beater. (I’ll put energy into getting it fixed after we’re back.) Wow. I forgot how clunky that thing was. The binding is hideous. That’s all I’m going to say because it is done. And now since all of my vision turned into a pile of slop, I’ll be able to enjoy throwing it on any sand, dock, grass or dirt surface this summer to make sure it earns its keep.

2 thoughts on “Procrastinating…

  1. LOVE the fabric–and I’m sure it’s much better than you make it sound πŸ™‚ looking forward to seeing you 3 next weekend!

  2. OK – I need to see all of that quilt! I’m loving what I do see in this image… okay, I’m coveting what I see in this image! πŸ˜‰

    I’m having some quilting frustrations myself and I don’t know if it’s because of the machine, me, sleep deprivation, batting… something else completely?! Ugh. (Not to mention it’s my first ever attempt so I’m “winging it!”) Wow – sewing therapy for me on your blog. Sorry! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

