Day9

waxplant

Shortly after Nick graduated college his grandmother (mom-mom) gave him a wax plant. Eventually we moved in together and then got married and at that point, the care more or less fell on me. When visiting his aunt and  parents I noticed that they, too, had large wax plants. On one visit his aunt told me that hers was also a start from her mother’s plant. So when Nick’s brother moved near us, I started one for him. I sort of think of it as a family plant now. While mine has never bloomed…and it seems like every time we visit Nick’s parents, his mom’s is blooming. The first time I saw it I actually thought she had bought dried flowers and tied them to her plant. They are pretty remarkable blooms and hardly look real. Monday was a (way) off picture day for me so I didn’t get any good shots…but I wanted to capture these unique blooms.

Monday we packed up and headed to the mountain cabin and enjoyed a few computer and phone free days.

Leave a Reply

