Turtles (Day 28)

Last summer I saw a ton of snakes. Both at home and during the time we visited the bay and Nick’s cabin. I have spent significant time in all of these places and had never seen so many snakes in such a short period of time. I should also add that I do not like snakes. Previously, I would have said “I hate snakes”  and to this day when I awake from a snake dream, I always make Nick turn on the light “just to make sure”. He’s getting used to sleepy conversations that go something like this:

“Nick! Turn on the light….Nick!”

“Why?”

“I just need you to do it!”

He follows through with my request, I look around and say, “Okay, nevermind.” and go back to sleep.

 Anyway, last summer, as the snake sightings continued, I became more intrigued than freaked out.

I know several people who believe in animal-speak and given that I have so unthoroughly researched the topic, I’m sure I will not do the  it justice by way of explanation. However, my understanding is that it is based on the understanding that animals visit us to offer messages that we need to hear. And the messages (or medicine) that they offer is often tied to different myths or folklore or other atributes that are tied to that specific animal. So, having friends who believe in this…I felt that I had seen enough snakes to “listen”. Snakes represent transformation which was a timely and accurate message for my life at that time.

Turtle

So, this summer I have seen very few snakes even though I am in all the same areas, but I have seen five turtles, which rarely happens for me. And some have been in unlikely places. So, I decided to do a quick google search and see what kind of messages turtles offer. Here are some pieces of what I found:

The turtle is a symbol for Motherhood, for longevity, and for the awakening to heightened sensibilities.

The turtle is an animal that can help you unite heaven and earth within your own life. (represented by the shell and underside of a turtle)

Its a reminder to use your own head and knowledge to right yourself when your world gets topsy-turvy. (tied to turtles being able to right themselves when flipped over on their back)

Turtle can help to slow us down to see our opportunities.

Turtle medicine can teach new perceptions about time and our relationship to it.

So, what does this have to do with me? Well, let me start by saying that I find it all intriguing–and enjoy looking at the “messages” and seeing if there is any relevance to my own life. I don’t follow it as a guiding truth. However, I do find this particular message relevant for me right now. I have recently been working to find the particular language I need to articulate how I’ve been feeling lately. As I discover ways to understand and explain, I am finding these particular messages relevant to what steps I might take next.

Much of what I found was in an excerpt from a book I found online. And this passage was particularly intriguing to me:

“If a turtle has shown up in your life, it is time to get connected to your most primal essense. Go within your shell and come out when your ideas are ready to be expressed. It is time to recognize that there is an abundance out there for you. It doesn’t have to be gotten quickly and immediately. Take your time and let the natural flow work for you. Too much, too soon, can upset the balance. Turtle reminds us that for all we need for all that we do is available to us, if we approach it in the right manner and time.”

Have you heard of Animal-Speak before? Is it something you believe in? Do you have any other ideas of what the turtles may represent? Have you been seeing more turtles than usual this year?

This is the first time I’ve posted for a day on the actual day in a while. Which means I’ve caught up and possibly will (try to) do better for the second half of our trip. Either way, I think that I am committed to getting it all up here at some point–even if its a bit late from time to time.

4 thoughts on “Turtles (Day 28)

  1. Nice post. I like when things like that make so much sense. I saw GOBS of turkeys the fall I moved to Laurelville (like, 20 in our yard one morning! and another one that we named because he just kept showing up) I just looked it up and turkeys apparently represent personal sacrifice. Huh.

    It seems sort of obvious for spring, but I have seen a TON of robins this spring–more than normal–ncluding watching baby robins leave the nest (which was way cool.) And, it turns out robins signify newness and new beginnings. Again, huh.

    My mom had a very significant experience with Peacocks several years back. A peacock was actually hanging out on their back deck for a while during a time that my mom was having health problems related to stress at work. When she took active steps to change the situation and address the health issues, the peacock stopped coming around.

    So, yeah. Guess I buy it.

    I hope you’re able to find ways to listen to the message.

    erin

  2. hmmmm.
    yay for catching up!!!!

    I will have to give this some thought… my initial interpretation is that God uses anything and everything that he can to speak to us…
    many times it is about recovering what he originally placed in us in the first place…
    so do I believe he uses turtles
    yupper!

  3. Hmmm…. speechless. Have been seeing oodles of snakes recently myself. Huh. Snakes = Transformation. Yeah, I would say that’s appropriate for my life right now. Wow.

  4. thank you.thank you!!! for not posting a snake picture. as I scrolled down reading I was afraid there was one. the turtle photo was soooo nice and unexpected at that point in your blog. thanks for your musings. very, very interesting. I may do some research myself.

Leave a Reply

