Bitty-bean

I took Lya into the pediatrician this morning. Sleep has been really off and just enough so that something kept nagging in the back of my head saying, “Get her ears checked….”. So, we did and it turns out my gut instinct was right. She has a single inner-ear infection and so we’re now on an antibiotic. Hopefully within a few days we’ll all be feeling (and sleeping) better.

Speaking of antibiotics….all three of us have been on one in the last month. I can’t even remember the last time I was before this, but just as we arrived home this stupid virus hit hard again. I went to the doctor the day after we returned and she put me on an antibiotic, assuming the virus had turned bacterial. The first antibiotic she put me on was too strong and I couldn’t get off the couch. It was miserable. We then switched to something a bit milder and that has been much easier to stomach. Literally. I am FINALLY able to swallow without pain and eat non-smooth, non-mild foods again. It was a long first week home.

While at the doctor’s office this morning Lya was weighed and measured since we hadn’t been there for a real appointment since her 12 month check up. At 1-year she was 16lbs 15oz and 28″ long. Today (exactly 5 months later) she was 18lb 3.5oz and 30″ long.  She’s growing but still pretty small. I really thought we’d be closer to 20lbs by now, but I guess I was wrong. She’s using all that food for stretching out–or running and climbing. Guess she’ll be facing backwards for a little while yet.

5 thoughts on “Bitty-bean

  1. Geez – hope you all feel better soon! And she is a bitty-bean huh?! We have one of those here as well… I love it though, so no complaints. 😉

    (I owe you an email – I’m trying to get to it before we head out!)

  2. I’m surprised, Quinn has passed Lya in weight. On our scale at home (with shoes on) today he was 19.6 lbs. I don’t think he’s as tall though. We’ll have to see. Hope you all feel better soon and get a lot of sleep!!!!

  3. Have they tested you for Epstein-Barr (aka mono?) I had it in my late teens, and you sound JUST like I felt then. It did pass, but I spent more than a month feeling rotten.

    Give Lya a big kiss from us! Mickey’s a total peanut, too. At 2 he weighs what what totally average daughter weighed at 1. But he’s healthy, eats great and grows (slowly!). I hope High School is ok for him — a tough time to be a short male — but I sure don’t care about his sie, just his health and happiness.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear how sick you are, and Nick and Lya, too. I hope you all feel better soon.

    We’re chomping at the bit for Caroline to gain two more pounds so that she can face forward, too.

Leave a Reply

