Not much has changed

This is what I wrote one year ago today:

So, this morning I contacted the travel agent we’re using for our flights to and from Vietnam. I sent him our home and both cell numbers. I still hadn’t heard anything tonight and was hoping he had gotten the email I sent.

At about 10pm I got an email from him saying that both cell phones were disconnected and that our home phone has a message saying “You’ve reached Ann.”

Hmm. Naturally I went and checked what numbers I gave him. And get this every one of them was wrong. EVERY. ONE. Seriously? This hugely important and exciting trip and I can’t give the travel agent a single correct phone number? The home number was a typo and the cell numbers were one part PA cell phone/one part NC cell phone.

What an idiot.

He called seconds after I sent the correct numbers and we’re working on it. Hopefully we’ll have a solid plan sometime tomorrow….

I wish I could say my brain has improved over the last year, but it hasn’t. I’m still trying to get back the brain I used to know. The one that could remember everything, stayed on top of details effortlessly and didn’t look like an inept idiot much of the time. I’d like to believe that I’ve made some other improvements–if not in mental capacity–over the last year. But, who knows.

Here are a few pictures from yesterday.

septfirst41

septfirst42

septfirst43

septfirst44

septfirst45

septfirst46

*the scowl*

We’re headed out of town this afternoon to spend the weekend with friends. First stop is Indiana. Our friends, Brooke, Justin & Layton, moved this spring and we haven’t been out to see their place yet. I’m really looking forward to having a few days with them. On top of that, we have a few other friends who are passing through while we’re there. Its been a long time since we’ve been able to catch up with Deb, Zach & Johan, so I’m really looking forward to that, too. After that we’re headed to Ohio to spend some time with Rachel, Adam & Quinn. We met last year at this time when we traveled in Vietnam together to adopt our kiddos. I am so excited to get Lya and Quinn together again and to reconnect with Adam and Rachel now that we’ve all been home a year (almost). There will be lots of pictures this weekend. For sure.

7 thoughts on “Not much has changed

  1. Four years and some odd months in and my brain is only getting mushier (wait until kid #2!!) … the good news is that when you have a beautiful daughter beside you, people don’t notice your brain or maybe they forgive you for having less of one or something. And you don’t care so much either. A brain for a great kid isn’t that bad of a trade-off. Brains are overrated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

